Multiple Teams · Mustangs receive a dozen all-Jefferson District football honors


A full dozen Monticello student-athletes were named first- or second-team all-Jefferson District football for the 2017 season.

Senior quarterback Kevin Jarrell highlights the 12 Mustang honorees as the Jefferson District Offensive Player of the Year and 1st team quarterback following a record breaking campaign both individually and as a team.

Joining Jarrell as 1st team selections are senior offensive lineman Elliot Curry, senior wide receiver Austin Haverstrom (also the 1st team pick at punt returner), and senior linebacker Garrett Porterfield.

Senior running back Jerrick Ayers was named 2nd team all-district along with junior wide receiver Trenton Johnson, senior defensive backs Austin Haverstrom and Jacoby Jackson, and senior punter Dylan Booth. Senior Danny Talbert garnered 2nd team honors at both offensive line and linebacker.

The complete list is below. For more information on Monticello Football, please contact Head Coach Jeff Lloyd at


Offense First Team

Quarterback: Kevin Jarrell, Monticello

Running back: Sabias Folley, Charlottesville; Job Whalen, Louisa County; Jaylen Alexander, Orange County

Offensive Line: Tony Thurston, Louisa County; Larry Henderson, Charlottesville; Trejon Bryant, Charlottesville; Ja’kell Johnson, Albemarle; Elliott Curry, Monticello

Wideouts and Tight ends: Darius Minor, Orange County; Jack Weyher, Western Albemarle; Austin Haverstrom, Monticello

All-Purpose: Malik Bell, Louisa County

Kicker: Thomas Henley, Louisa County

Kick Return: Rakeem Davis, Charlottesville

Offensive Player of the year: Kevin Jarrell, Monticello
Defensive Player of the year: Tony Thurston, Louisa County
Coach of the Year: Mark Fischer, Louisa County

Defense First Team

Defensive line: Tony Thurston, Louisa County; Luke Tenuta, Western Albemarle; Devin McGhee, Louisa County; Hunter Fillingame, Albemarle

Linebackers: Brandon Smith, Louisa County; Job Whalen, Louisa County; Garrett Porterfield, Monticello; Xavier Trotman, Powhatan

Defensive backs: Darius Minor, Orange County; Robert Sims, Western Albemarle; Kris Anderson, Albemarle; Prophett Harris, Fluvanna County

Defensive All-Purpose: Na’il Arnold, Albemarle

Punter: Ethan Graves, Fluvanna County

Punt Return: Austin Haverstrom, Monticello

Offense Second Team

Quarterback: J’Quan Anderson, Albemarle

Running back: Jacob Taylor, Powhatan; Jerrick Ayers, Monticello; Tre Durrett, Charlottesville; Raquan Jones, Louisa County

Offensive Line: Dustin Matney, Louisa County; Walter Stribling, Fluvanna County; JayVion Johnson, Powhatan; Jorvin Maupin, Albemarle; Danny Talbert, Monticello

Wideouts and Tight ends: Chris Washington, Orange County; Kaysean Allen, Albemarle; Trenton Johnson, Monticello; Gabe Satterwhite, Powhatan

All-Purpose: Sam Neale, Charlottesville; Rakeem Davis, Charlottesville

Kicker: Darius Minor, Orange County

Kick Return: Chris Washington, Orange County

Defense Second Team

Defensive line: Jahsaan Bradford-Carter, Charlottesville; Wilhelm Lutterodt, Orange County; Robert Quinn, Louisa County; Sedique Flowers, Orange County

Linebackers: Eric Taylor, Albemarle; Isaiah Washington, Charlottesville; Raquan Jones, Louisa County; Danny Talbert, Monticello

Defensive backs: Austin Haverstrom, Monticello; Damion Washington, Charlottesville; Jacoby Jackson, Monticello; Darren Klein, Western Albemarle

Defensive All-Purpose: Jack Lesemann, Western Albemarle

Punter: Dylan Booth, Monticello

Punt Return: Chris Washington, Orange County